Hello everyone, as you, I am sure have noticed, I have not blogged in quite a while,I have still been reading blogs I follow but have not been doing it myself. I want to get back to doing it a little and thought I would start with what I have been doing lately: Canning!! I have been canning different things and I thought I would share some of the recipes I am using in the next few posts. These are the recipes I am using this year. This one is:

Cucumber Relish

2 quarts  chopped cucumbers 
2 cups chopped sweet green peppers
2 cups chopped sweet red peppers
1 cup chopped onions
1/2 cup canning salt
2 quarts cold water
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
2 sticks cinnamon
1 TBSP mustard seed
1 TBSP turmeric
2 tsp whole allspice
2 tsp whole cloves
1 quart vinegar
Combine cucumbers, peppers and onions; sprinkle with turmeric. Dissolve salt in 2 quarts cold water and pour over vegetables; let stand 3 to 4 hours. Drain; cover vegetables with cold water and let stand 1 hour. Drain thoroughly. Tie spices in a cheesecloth bag; add to sugar and vinegar. Heat to boiling and pour over vegetables. Cover and let stand 12 to 18 hours in a cool place. Simmer until vegetables are hot. Bring to boiling. Pack, boiling hot, into hot pint jars, leaving 1/4 inch head space. Adjust caps. Process 10 minutes in boiling water bath. Makes about 6 pints
(This recipe came from the Ball Blue Book)
 
 
 DSCF5053

About Correna

I live in the country and really enjoy that. I am a Sunday School teacher in my church: Faith Baptist Church. My hobbies are card making, photography, gardening, cooking, and a few others. I love my husband Scott dearly. I have a cat named Idget and a dog named Zeek. I like to go for rides and walks. Jesus is my Savior and I trust in Him for guidance.

2 responses »

  1. Athina says:

    It’s nice to see you’re back Correna! Looking forward to your posts and thanks for all your canning recipes…

    Like

    • Correna says:

      Thank you, it’s nice to hear from you again. I have missed everyone and am glad I am back. It probably wont be as detailed as before at least for now . Thanks for stopping by and saying hi. Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment