Jesus is the reason for the season words

Today’s Bible Verse: Now the birth of Jesus Christ was on this wise: When as his mother Mary was espoused to Joseph, before they came together, she was found with child of the Holy Ghost.Then Joseph her husband, being a just man, and not willing to make her a public example, was minded to put her away privily.But while he thought on these things, behold, the angel of the Lord appeared unto him in a dream, saying, Joseph, thou son of David, fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife: for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost.   Matthew 1:18-20

Today’s Goal:  Organize your plans for this wonderful Christmas season. While organizing all you would like to do and see happen, don’t forget to take a little time with the Reason for the season and ask Jesus to be with you in all that you do. He will help you, all you have to do is ask. We wouldn’t have a true Christmas in the first place without Him. I write lists, it’s what I do to get organized, it doesn’t mean it’s in stone but it helps me kind of stay on track and also gives me other ideas as I read my list over. I would like to 1. finish all my handmade Christmas cards 2. Be ready for our Christmas program at church 3. make cookies for Christmas presents 4. Sing lots of Christmas songs 5. Play lots of Christmas music on the piano. 6. Enjoy each day without getting stressed about all I have to do….Now, I can’t do this one on my own for sure!!!! and many other things. What is on your list for some of your plans?

Today’s Cookie Recipe:

Well, it’s not a cookie but it’s close!!! Gotta have fudge at Christmas! What would Christmas be like without Fudge???!!!!  This is an easy recipe, you really can’t mess it up!

Quick Nut Fudge

1 pound powdered sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

1/4 tsp salt

6 TBSP butter

4 TBSP milk

1 TBSP vanilla

! cup chopped walnuts

Put all ingredients except nuts in a double boiler. Stir until smooth. Stir in nuts.

Spread in buttered 9×5″ pan. Cool.

Cut in squares.

Double the recipe for a 9×13″ pan

Best kept in the fridge!

Something Special to do: Now I also want to share something really special that you can do to celebrate Christmas. An advent wreath. I found a wonderful description on a friends blog, and I would like to share it with you. Please go Teaching What is Good, and Kate has a wonderful post about it that explains it so much better than I can. It is new to me and this year I am going to add this to my traditions. It is such a blessing to worship God in this way. It is not a hard thing to do and Kate has a PDF file that she shares on the schedule and verses for the advent wreath. Thank you Kate for sharing your post. Please go and check it out, maybe you will want to do this as well.

This is just the start of the Countdown to Christmas here on Correna’s thoughts. I hope you come back each day and I hope my ideas give you ideas, and if they do you can always share them with me, I love to get comments and build friendships. Have an absolutely wonderful Christmas season this year. God bless you as you enter His reason for the season.

4 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    I love your blog!! Todays verse is soo good thank you for posting it 😉 Im a new follower!

    Like

    • Correna says:

      Oh, I am so happy to have you following. I am so glad you like my blog, I love finding new friends and God has a unique way of uplifting people thru people. I love your blog too, you make beautiful projects, they are just so pretty. When I do a blog hop I don’t follow everyone, I could never keep up! 🙂 but yours was so inspiring and I love the way you write. I read your story page and just had to sign up and follow you. Thanks for stopping by and liking my blog and following, hope we become great friends!!! Have a great day!

      Like

  2. Correna, I love your countdown format!! And thanks for the shout out on my advent schedule. Looking forward to following you in our coming celebration of the birth of our Lord!

    Like

    • Correna says:

      Oh, good, thank you so much, yes I love the advent wreath, we have to catch up a couple days, but I am getting my Christmas decorations out on Monday, I have been so busy I havent had the chance, but we are setting it up on Monday and following the verses you put in your pdf. I am just so excited to do this. Thank you again. Have a great day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

